Forum Jump:
Thread Tools
Old 01-30-2008, 07:46 PM - Thread Starter
Member

zwede's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got a Samsung LCD TV (LNT-2641) and it came with a BN59-00598A remote. I had no problems making it control an old Magnavox VCR I have hooked up, but I can't make it control a Dish network STB, model 311. I tried the "Dish network", "Dishpro" and "echostar" codes in the Samsung manual, but no luck.

Anyone managed to get this to work?
zwede is offline
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-02-2008, 06:24 AM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

Innova's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mosinee, WI
Posts: 1,474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also got a new samsung tv, and couldn't get it to control my Dish 311. If anyone gets it to work, please post the code.
Innova is offline
Old 02-02-2008, 10:31 AM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

Edmund's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Granada Hills, Ca
Posts: 1,691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 33
The dish receiver has to respond to IR, and it has to be set to address or unit code #1. Dish receivers have 16 remote addresses so you can have more than one receiver in a given room. But uinversal & oem remotes have onlt a code for dish receiver set to address #1. check your manual on how to identify what address you're on and to how to switch.
Edmund is online now

Old 02-02-2008, 11:38 AM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

Innova's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mosinee, WI
Posts: 1,474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry, I put the incorrect receiver model. I actually have the 301T. I believe this receiver is IR only...
Innova is offline
Old 02-06-2008, 05:13 PM - Thread Starter
Member

zwede's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Edmund: Thanks for the reply. This dish STB only does IR and is set to remote address #1. Still no luck with the codes in the samsung manual, unfortunately.
zwede is offline
Old 02-07-2008, 05:22 AM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

SaltiDawg's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edmund View Post

... But uinversal & oem remotes have onlt a code for dish receiver set to address #1. check your manual on how to identify what address you're on and to how to switch.

Edmund,

Actually this is not correct. My Harmony 680 controlled two Dish 508 Receivers located in the same room. As part of the Setup procedure, the Harmony Software had me transmit a couple of already known IR commands while in learn mode to determine the IR Channel.
SaltiDawg is offline
Old 02-07-2008, 09:02 AM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

Edmund's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Granada Hills, Ca
Posts: 1,691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaltiDawg View Post

Edmund,

Actually this is not correct. My Harmony 680 controlled two Dish 508 Receivers located in the same room. As part of the Setup procedure, the Harmony Software had me transmit a couple of already known IR commands while in learn mode to determine the IR Channel.

Give me a break here, computer programmable remotes like Harmony are not what I refering to, its preprogrammed remotes that have no way upgrading their code libraries,. that is whatt I was refering to.
Edmund is online now
Old 02-07-2008, 10:08 AM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

SaltiDawg's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edmund View Post

Give me a break here, computer programmable remotes like Harmony are not what I refering to, its preprogrammed remotes that have no way upgrading their code libraries,. that is whatt I was refering to.

That's why you said, "But uinversal & oem remotes have onlt a code for dish receiver set to address #1. "
I assume "uinversal" means universal. lol
SaltiDawg is offline
Old 02-07-2008, 11:41 AM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

Innova's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mosinee, WI
Posts: 1,474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm going to assume that since no one answered the original question, that the answer is, "No". Samsung remotes do not have a built in code for Dish Network receivers (at least not the 301).
Innova is offline
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Thread Tools


Forum Jump:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off