Forum Jump:
1Likes
  • 1 Post By FMW
Old 02-12-2008, 04:07 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Havent posted in awhile, but i have a chance to grab up some Adcom seperates inexpensively. I was looking because im finally tired of the receiver i use in the one room clipping so often. I can pickup a gsa700, gtp550, and gfa2535 for $200. Thing is tho, one of the main things i will use them for is television, and apparently the 550 doesnt have toslink/optical inputs

Ive been using optical input for a couple of years now, and am wondering: what do you all think will be the big differences between optical and rca..?

PS: no it also doesnt have coax, just regular ol, plain vanilla RCA.

Thanks for any and all input~!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-12-2008, 05:39 PM
online-shashki Forum Addicted Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 266 Post(s)
Liked: 153
I am confused. Are you asking what's the difference between optical and coax S/PDIF?

Or S/PDIF, using the receivers DA converter vs. using your player's DA converter?

"But this one goes up to 11"
Old 02-12-2008, 09:56 PM - Thread Starter

nope, i just never had the chance to do side by side comparison of optical input VS RCA. Im aware Optical is digital, and RCA is analog, but since ive never tested side by side, figured id ask what everyone else thought. Is there an appreciable sound difference if i have to go with RCA from say a DirecTV receiver instead of optical.

I asked same question on Audiogon forum and someone mentioned that for stereo source, there shouldnt be much of a difference, somehow still a bit doubtufll of that tho. Plus i suppose id have to go 7 channel direct without optical.

Old 02-13-2008, 05:42 AM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17