Forum Jump:
1Likes
  • 1 Post By Soundood
Old 11-11-2008, 07:59 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, noob here, I am just now making my first moves into separate amplification.I started out with a Harman Kardon AVR 240 receiver which I've been pretty happy with.I also realized that I like the HK 'sound' (warm side of neutral?).Unfortunately, with technology moving as fast as it is, HDMI implementation problems, I decided I wanted (which HK seems to be having a particularly difficult time with)The first amp I found was a Parasound HCA 855a, It's a nice sounding amp, however it seems to be a little less dynamic, and not quite as 3 dimensional as far as sound stage goes.High end seems to have a little more glare or grain.I will say that it's also a bit smoother and detailed. I recently had the opportunity to purchase an HK Citation 7.1 150 x4 in good condition.I did some reading around and they seem to be well regarded on some other forums and review sites, although they are 10-12 year old.It would be used with fairly efficient Ascend Acoustics 340se/170se's and a HSU sub. I was wondering if any of you know much about this amplifier, or have had any experience with it?What were your impressions? Maybe even some input from someone who might still use one (or more). Some of the others I've considered are Proceed, Odyssey, Gemstone, and other Parasounds. I realize sound is subjective,but any input would be appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-12-2008, 05:31 PM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

Liked: 11