Forum Jump:
Old 01-25-2014, 09:21 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hello everyone, I put a post up on the new member thread also, but this is my first actual post.  I work as a technician and have for 20 years, repairing some fairly complex beverage, cooking, and HVAC equipment.  I now own my own business and work for myself doing the same.

For a short while when I got my start repairing equipment, I repaired jukeboxes and arcade games.  I am familiar replacing power supply's, coils, capacaitors, CRT monitiors.

What brings me to this forum though, is I have an opportunity to pick up a 82 inch Mitsubishi TV from a client of mine for absolutely nothing, but the catch is it turns on, but makes no picture.  There is sound however.  She tells me she thinks it needs a bulb. 

My question is, could this be true, or could it be something more complex out of my realm of repair?  I mean I am getting it free so I have no loss if I cant fix it.

The reason I am even willing to accept this challenge is that first off I always wanted a big floor model projection TV, they just seem bigger than the new flat screens.  And second I once had a new 55 inch projection TV that I called Sears to fix, they couldn't fix it, but left all the parts behind, I put them in it, and it works to this day.

Thanks for any help/adivice.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-25-2014, 11:54 AM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 454 Post(s)
Liked: 215
If the model number is something like Mitsubishi WD-82742 (or 842) then it is a DLP, illuminated by a single high intensity bulb. It may indeed be something as simply as replacing the bulb. It could be something else, of course, which one could find out by troubleshooting, but a completely dead bulb could result in no picture.