Forum Jump:
Thread Tools
Old 05-28-2010, 03:46 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member

Shark7's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a pre-2007 xbox 360, the original white one, with the big trapezoidal shaped connection on the back that can either go out to component or the yellow/white/red standard def video. I've been using the xbox via component at 1080i, but I would like to be able to play the games at 1080p via HDMI. Is there a microsoft cable, or any cable, that has a trapezoidal connection at one end of the cable, that then goes to an HDMI connection at the other end of the cable. A cable that will plug into my first gen xbox 360 on one end, and into an HDTV's HDMI connection on the other end, would be a more succinct way of putting it.

What's my solution? Thank you for your help.
Shark7 is offline
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-28-2010, 04:44 PM
Advanced Member

txrose's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is a VGA & R/L Stereo Audio to HDMI Converter w/ DC Adapter for only $41 + shipping.
http://monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2
All you need is the Xbox VGA cable, two RCA analog audio cables and an HDMI cable. I could not locate a component + analog audio to HDMI converter. Has anyone tried this converter from Monoprice?

If it isn't 720p or 1080i/p it isn't HD. If it is 720p or 1080i/p it may not be HD content.
txrose is offline
Old 05-28-2010, 07:13 PM
online-shashki Forum Addicted Member

walford's Avatar

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Your solution is to stay with 1080/60i component since if you have a 1080p TV or display that accepts it will de- interlace it to 1080p/30. Any attempt to convert analog 1080i/60 component to digital 1080p HDMI will just result in a degradation of picture quality.
walford is offline

Old 05-29-2010, 03:55 AM
Advanced Member

CRT Dude's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Xbox can do 1080p over component if your TV supports it.
CRT Dude is offline
Old 05-29-2010, 12:40 PM
Advanced Member

kciaccio's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Pearland TX
Posts: 626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shark7 View Post

I have a pre-2007 xbox 360, the original white one, with the big trapezoidal shaped connection on the back that can either go out to component or the yellow/white/red standard def video. I've been using the xbox via component at 1080i, but I would like to be able to play the games at 1080p via HDMI. Is there a microsoft cable, or any cable, that has a trapezoidal connection at one end of the cable, that then goes to an HDMI connection at the other end of the cable. A cable that will plug into my first gen xbox 360 on one end, and into an HDTV's HDMI connection on the other end, would be a more succinct way of putting it.

What's my solution? Thank you for your help.

Solution is to buy an xbox arcade and connect the hard drive from this one
kciaccio is offline
Old 05-29-2010, 02:25 PM

ChrisWiggles's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 20,735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by walford View Post

Your solution is to stay with 1080/60i component since if you have a 1080p TV or display that accepts it will de- interlace it to 1080p/30. Any attempt to convert analog 1080i/60 component to digital 1080p HDMI will just result in a degradation of picture quality.

No because you can output 1080p via component with the xbox 360. If your display (most don't) doesn't suppoer 1080p via component input, then you need a component->HDMI adapter that supports 1080p, then you'd be getting 1080p to an HDMI-equippped 1080p capable display.
ChrisWiggles is offline
Old 05-29-2010, 02:26 PM

ChrisWiggles's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 20,735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
You want something like this: http://xcm.cc/xcm_1080p_hdmi_cab...en_console.htm

or the monoprice piece above if it supports 1080p (I'm not familiar with it). There are other comparable products out there as well.
ChrisWiggles is offline
Old 05-30-2010, 11:39 AM

ChrisWiggles's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 20,735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by walford View Post

Chris,
Everthing you say is true for a 2nd generation XBOX 360 but it does not appear to be true for a 1st generation XBOX 360 as indiacated in the link I posted.

Your link is not pertinent as it references the first-gen xbox, not the 1st gen xbox360. Two different devices entirely. The original xbox is very different from the xbox360.
ChrisWiggles is offline
Old 05-31-2010, 08:09 AM
online-shashki Forum Addicted Member

walford's Avatar

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My Error, you are completly correct. I have deleted my incorrect posts.
walford is offline
Old 06-02-2010, 05:53 PM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

mbyrnes's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Philadelphia, PA (Pennsport, South Philly)
Posts: 3,559
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 213
Here is my take. I used to have a first gen 360. That broke and had to buy a new one. Going from component 1080i to HDMI 1080p is such a small change that I wouldn't spend a dollar on it. I have a Panasonic S1 1080p plasma and I saw really almost no change. Many other members have said the same thing as me. Slight but not worth spending money on.

See if you can borrow a friends 360 w/ HDMI and see if you will even get a difference going HDMI. I don't think you will.

Xbox Live: TheRealMaxPower --- PSN: BeyondMaxPower---- Vizio P75-C1    Vienna Acoustic Mozart Grands    Pioneer SC-72   Sony BDP-S790 Xbox One S, PS4 Pro, Astro Mixamp 2013, Soundblaster X7 (Sparkos Op Amps), Schiit Modi Multibit/Magni, LTA MicroZOTL2 headphone amp, Hifiman HE-X V2, AKG K702 65th Anniversary, Fostex TH-X00 Ebony, Monoprice Monolith M1060 (Vegan pads), DT990 Pro 250 ohm, Massdrop/Sennheiser HD6XX and PC37X Audio Technica ATH-M50x Antlion ModMic
mbyrnes is offline
Old 08-13-2010, 03:50 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member

Shark7's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for taking the time everyone but the multiple responses all saying different things confused me. i want 1080p because i get a lot of not good lines when playing xbox360. like with blu rays, or even 1080i HD tv, a square building has a solid edge to it. But with xbox 360 games, like gears of war, the edges of things are always kind of glistening and moving and its not ... i dont know how to put it. like if im watching 1080i cable television, and gametrailers TV is on, and they're showing a demo of gears of war 2, then it looks just like television hd quality, except i can tell its a video game because it looks like a video game. but then if i play that exact same portion of gears of war 2 on my xbox 360, the edges are terrible. this wasnt an issue on a small tv but i own a projector now and since getting the projector the edges are bad on video games.
Shark7 is offline
Old 08-13-2010, 06:26 AM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

demonfoo's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 36
I replaced my Gen1 XBox360 last year with a newer 360 Pro specifically for HDMI. There's no way to support HDMI with the Gen1 360 - the circuitry wasn't there until the Elites came out with HDMI ports. If you want HDMI, you'll have to trade up.
demonfoo is offline
Old 08-28-2010, 07:26 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member

Shark7's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does everyone agree it can't be done? Or why were there a lot of posts saying it could be done if it can't be? j/w

also, "trade up," does that mean you can actually trade in your old one for some credit towards a new one?

Quote:
Originally Posted by demonfoo View Post

I replaced my Gen1 XBox360 last year with a newer 360 Pro specifically for HDMI. There's no way to support HDMI with the Gen1 360 - the circuitry wasn't there until the Elites came out with HDMI ports. If you want HDMI, you'll have to trade up.

Shark7 is offline
Old 08-28-2010, 11:44 PM

ChrisWiggles's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 20,735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I told you that it can be done, and it can be. Links are there.

If your display accepts 1080p via component, you don't even need to do anything beyond selecting 1080p in the xbox menu. If it doesn't, then you will need to use a converter to conver the 1080p component out to HDMI and on to your display if it supports 1080p60 via HDMI.

If that's too complicated for you to figure out, either 1) live with 1080i, or 2) buy a new xbox with HDMI output.
ChrisWiggles is offline
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Thread Tools


Forum Jump:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off