Forum Jump:
669Likes
Thread Tools
Old 08-03-2012, 02:45 PM - Thread Starter
online-shashki Forum Special Member

WiFi-Spy's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,916
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 635 Post(s)
Liked: 1100
SpectraCal has released CalMan 5 Commercial version.

Here are the release notes:

http://commercial.spectracal.com/support/calman5/release-notes

Tyler Pruitt - Technical Liaison - CalMAN

10 Bit Gradient Test Patterns (HEVC) - Free Download
WiFi-Spy is online now
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-03-2012, 03:52 PM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

turbe's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 4,405
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 97
comparison of the 5 Business Series here:

http://studio.spectracal.com/calmanstudio/compare-studio-to-ultimate.html

http://commercial.spectracal.com/calman5/compare-products


.

Need to find a Professional Calibrator? Click Here to PM me with your Display & City

Calibrator List - Pioneer ISFccc Interface

Calibration Reports - Pioneer

 

ControlCAL™
Designed by Calibrators for Calibrators™

No need to fumble through the Display's Menu with its Remote Control™

turbe is offline
Old 08-03-2012, 04:21 PM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

derekjsmith's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 1,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 117
CalMAN 5 releases are being staggered, unlike before were we just released all versions at the same time. The CalMAN 5 project has been almost two years in the works, has been in some form of testing for nearly a year. The amount of QA and final testing is staggering for the amount of hardware now supported and the industries it is going into. So we felt it best to stagger each release and give proper support to each one. I know everyone is excited about getting their hands on 5 and I can tell you it will be worth the short wait.

We released “CalMAN 5 Studio” a couple of weeks ago and “CalMAN 5 for Business” today. Next are “CalMAN 5 for Consumer”, CalPC, CalMED, and others are still in the queue.

Derek

CTO Portrait Displays Inc.
derekjsmith is offline

Old 08-03-2012, 05:52 PM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

sotti's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 7,038
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 340
That's not just the release notes, that's the whole thing boys!
sotti is offline
Old 08-03-2012, 07:15 PM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

cinema mad's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Here Nor There..
Posts: 1,837
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Just recieved my Calman5 Ultimate license, its finally hear Boys biggrin.gif !!!!!!!!!
cinema mad is offline
Old 08-03-2012, 11:44 PM
online-shashki Forum Addicted Member

DaGamePimp's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,067
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 470 Post(s)
Liked: 533
Do we have a time line for the standard Calman 5 release for those getting the free upgrade from 4?

I am assuming our license keys from 4 work on version 5, or will we be getting a new license via e-mail?

Thanks,
Jason

HT = JVC RS40 / Lumagen Radiance / Vivitek 1186 / @133" / Denon x5200 7.3.4 Atmos / B&K 5000 II amp / Boston VR2/VR12/CR67 speakers / Rythmik 12" subs x2 / CV 15" sub / Sony BDP s1000ES / Toshiba HD-A3 / Samsung K8500
Media Room = Samsung 65KS8000 / Denon x3300 /Klipsch speakers /Velodyne subs /Sony x800 /PS4 Pro + PSVR /WiiU/PS3/360/Wii/ 1080 TI game PC / Multi-Arcade / IMPEACH
DaGamePimp is offline
Old 08-04-2012, 12:03 AM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

sotti's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 7,038
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaGamePimp View Post

Do we have a time line for the standard Calman 5 release for those getting the free upgrade from 4?
I am assuming our license keys from 4 work on version 5, or will we be getting a new license via e-mail?
Thanks,
Jason

The release is only the Business version for professional calibrators.
We are hard at work polishing up the features we feel we need for a true consumer launch. If you don't have a CalMANv4 Expert or Commercial license, you'll have to sit tight for a bit longer. In the meantime you can download CalMAN 5 for Business and run it in our evaluation mode.
sotti is offline
Old 08-04-2012, 01:04 AM
online-shashki Forum Addicted Member

DaGamePimp's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,067
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 470 Post(s)
Liked: 533
Ah I see, thanks Joel.

Jason

HT = JVC RS40 / Lumagen Radiance / Vivitek 1186 / @133" / Denon x5200 7.3.4 Atmos / B&K 5000 II amp / Boston VR2/VR12/CR67 speakers / Rythmik 12" subs x2 / CV 15" sub / Sony BDP s1000ES / Toshiba HD-A3 / Samsung K8500
Media Room = Samsung 65KS8000 / Denon x3300 /Klipsch speakers /Velodyne subs /Sony x800 /PS4 Pro + PSVR /WiiU/PS3/360/Wii/ 1080 TI game PC / Multi-Arcade / IMPEACH
DaGamePimp is offline
Old 08-04-2012, 08:30 AM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

derekjsmith's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 1,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaGamePimp View Post

I am assuming our license keys from 4 work on version 5, or will we be getting a new license via e-mail?
Thanks,
Jason

The license keys from 4 do not work with 5. For those eligible a CalMAN 5 key will be issued, our goal is to e-mail them out.

Derek

CTO Portrait Displays Inc.
derekjsmith is offline
Old 08-04-2012, 01:38 PM
online-shashki Forum Addicted Member

DaGamePimp's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,067
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 470 Post(s)
Liked: 533
Thanks for the clarification Derek.

Jason

HT = JVC RS40 / Lumagen Radiance / Vivitek 1186 / @133" / Denon x5200 7.3.4 Atmos / B&K 5000 II amp / Boston VR2/VR12/CR67 speakers / Rythmik 12" subs x2 / CV 15" sub / Sony BDP s1000ES / Toshiba HD-A3 / Samsung K8500
Media Room = Samsung 65KS8000 / Denon x3300 /Klipsch speakers /Velodyne subs /Sony x800 /PS4 Pro + PSVR /WiiU/PS3/360/Wii/ 1080 TI game PC / Multi-Arcade / IMPEACH
DaGamePimp is offline
Old 08-05-2012, 03:05 PM
Advanced Member

<^..^>Smokey Joe's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hobitville, New Zealand
Posts: 521
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Been playing with CalMAN 5 over the weekend, can say it is a vast improvement in speed and usuability over V4.

A few new defaults I need to get my head around, or get used to like use of dE 2000.

Editing work flow layouts is alot better, and really like the editing mode then lock down switch. Really tidy.
Really happy about white ticks and markers for selections! Been asking for this since V4 released!
Lots of new stuff and settings available, almost too much...if I dare say it!

Still finding way around, really happy with it so far.

Good job guys.

Masterpiece Calibration Ltd
Lincolnvilleshire
New Zealand
<^..^>Smokey Joe is offline
Old 08-05-2012, 04:21 PM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

derekjsmith's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 1,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by <^..^>Smokey Joe View Post

Been playing with CalMAN 5 over the weekend, can say it is a vast improvement in speed and usuability over V4.
A few new defaults I need to get my head around, or get used to like use of dE 2000.
Editing work flow layouts is alot better, and really like the editing mode then lock down switch. Really tidy.
Really happy about white ticks and markers for selections! Been asking for this since V4 released!
Lots of new stuff and settings available, almost too much...if I dare say it!
Still finding way around, really happy with it so far.
Good job guys.

Thank you, we have been working on it very hard and with a little help from our friends or should I say 80 some beta testers from all experience levels. The CalMAN 5 features, usability and capability is no accident. We have a very mature design team with a deep understanding of color science and human visual perception.

Derek

CTO Portrait Displays Inc.
derekjsmith is offline
Old 08-05-2012, 10:53 PM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

HDTVChallenged's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 8,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 215
So, I already know that BT1886 has been added. The other feature I've been holding out for is the ability to check CMS adjustments at 75% saturation level (and hopefully 25% and 50% levels as well.)

My set has a quirky CMS and color decoder and getting the 100% saturation targets "right" is no guarantee that the other 99% of the gamut will be correct. wink.gif That, or something is wrong with the encoding on my version 1.3 of the online-shashkiHD disk.

PS: Yes I mean "saturation" not "stimulus" or "normalized luminance."
HDTVChallenged is offline
Old 08-05-2012, 11:15 PM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

sotti's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 7,038
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTVChallenged View Post

So, I already know that BT1886 has been added. The other feature I've been holding out for is the ability to check CMS adjustments at 75% saturation level (and hopefully 25% and 50% levels as well.)
My set has a quirky CMS and color decoder and getting the 100% saturation targets "right" is no guarantee that the other 99% of the gamut will be correct. wink.gif That, or something is wrong with the encoding on my version 1.3 of the online-shashkiHD disk.
PS: Yes I mean "saturation" not "stimulus" or "normalized luminance."

Yes that's in there as well.

We added several new measurement sweeps including, saturation levels (in many different configurations and luminance levels), Gamut luminance ramps, a Color Checker swatch set and an RGB Cube type.
sotti is offline
Old 08-05-2012, 11:18 PM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

HDTVChallenged's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 8,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 215
As Abed would say: Cool, cool, cool, cool, cool .... smile.gif
HDTVChallenged is offline
Old 08-06-2012, 06:01 AM
Senior Member

praz's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 26
The measurement sweeps in Calman v5 are slick and work with the built-in patterns of the Radiance and Duo.
praz is offline
Old 08-06-2012, 09:33 AM
online-shashki Forum Addicted Member

PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 11,597
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2444 Post(s)
Liked: 778
Quote:
Originally Posted by sotti View Post

Yes that's in there as well.
We added several new measurement sweeps including, saturation levels (in many different configurations and luminance levels), Gamut luminance ramps, a Color Checker swatch set and an RGB Cube type.

will the GCD disc work well with these new features?

-7.1ch Bedroom HT-
Samsung UN46EH6030
Yamaha RX-A2070
SVS Prime Bookshelf and Prime Center
Sony SS-CS5 Surrounds and Cambridge S20 Rear Surrounds
Rythmik LV12R
PlasmaPZ80U is offline
Old 08-06-2012, 09:50 AM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

sotti's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 7,038
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post

will the GCD disc work well with these new features?

Extended support for disc based pattern sets will be part of the consumer product launch.
We aren't quite ready to announce the specifics of that yet.
sotti is offline
Old 08-06-2012, 04:29 PM
slb
online-shashki Forum Special Member

slb's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Francisco North Bay
Posts: 1,495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTVChallenged View Post

So, I already know that BT1886 has been added. The other feature I've been holding out for is the ability to check CMS adjustments at 75% saturation level (and hopefully 25% and 50% levels as well.)
My set has a quirky CMS and color decoder and getting the 100% saturation targets "right" is no guarantee that the other 99% of the gamut will be correct. wink.gif That, or something is wrong with the encoding on my version 1.3 of the online-shashkiHD disk.
PS: Yes I mean "saturation" not "stimulus" or "normalized luminance."

Quote:
Originally Posted by sotti View Post

Yes that's in there as well.
We added several new measurement sweeps including, saturation levels (in many different configurations and luminance levels), Gamut luminance ramps, a Color Checker swatch set and an RGB Cube type.

Hi Joel,
Does the DVDO Duo have test patterns available through CalMan 5 to support measuring saturation levels less than 100% (e.g. 25%, 50%, 75%)?
slb is offline
Old 08-06-2012, 06:50 PM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

sotti's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 7,038
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by slb View Post

Hi Joel,
Does the DVDO Duo have test patterns available through CalMan 5 to support measuring saturation levels less than 100% (e.g. 25%, 50%, 75%)?

Yes it does.
sotti is offline
Old 08-06-2012, 09:12 PM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

derekjsmith's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 1,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by slb View Post

Hi Joel,
Does the DVDO Duo have test patterns available through CalMan 5 to support measuring saturation levels less than 100% (e.g. 25%, 50%, 75%)?

Yes and it also supports definable window size for you plasma lovers.

Derek

CTO Portrait Displays Inc.
derekjsmith is offline
Old 08-07-2012, 12:24 AM
Member

lunkens's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by slb View Post

Hi Joel,
Does the DVDO Duo have test patterns available through CalMan 5 to support measuring saturation levels less than 100% (e.g. 25%, 50%, 75%)?
Quote:
Originally Posted by sotti View Post

Yes it does.

Is this true for the Radience series as well?
lunkens is offline
Old 08-07-2012, 08:03 AM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

sotti's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 7,038
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by lunkens View Post

Is this true for the Radience series as well?

Absolutely!
sotti is offline
Old 08-07-2012, 08:18 AM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

derekjsmith's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 1,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by lunkens View Post

Is this true for the Radience series as well?

Yes in fact we do most of our testing and AutoCal algorithm research using the radiance.

Derek

CTO Portrait Displays Inc.
derekjsmith is offline
Old 08-07-2012, 09:49 AM
slb
online-shashki Forum Special Member

slb's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Francisco North Bay
Posts: 1,495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sotti View Post

Yes it does.

Quote:
Originally Posted by derekjsmith View Post

Yes and it also supports definable window size for you plasma lovers.

Great! Looking forward to the upgrade!
slb is offline
Old 08-08-2012, 12:26 AM
Member

lunkens's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As I'm a Calman 4 Commercial user today, will the new ultimate license let me use the Color box in Calman 5?
lunkens is offline
Old 08-08-2012, 06:40 AM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

derekjsmith's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 1,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by lunkens View Post

As I'm a Calman 4 Commercial user today, will the new ultimate license let me use the Color box in Calman 5?

Yes with CalMAN 5 Ultimate you get access to everything.

Derek

CTO Portrait Displays Inc.
derekjsmith is offline
Old 08-15-2012, 02:31 PM
Senior Member

ndaa75's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Caister on Sea, UK
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaGamePimp View Post

Do we have a time line for the standard Calman 5 release for those getting the free upgrade from 4?
I am assuming our license keys from 4 work on version 5, or will we be getting a new license via e-mail?
Thanks,
Jason

Free upgrade from 4? I have a DIY license, do i qualify?

Benq W1080ST Projector, Panasonic TXP55VT30 plasma, Yamaha RXA3020 AVR, Denon DVD-2500BT, Q Acoustics 1010i in 7.1, i1 Pro spectro, i1 Display Pro, Calman 5 Enthusiast, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii

Calibration Management Disc
ndaa75 is offline
Old 08-15-2012, 03:13 PM
online-shashki Forum Addicted Member

DaGamePimp's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,067
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 470 Post(s)
Liked: 533
They have stated that if you have purchased version 4 within about the last year or so then you would get version 5 for free. wink.gif

Jason

HT = JVC RS40 / Lumagen Radiance / Vivitek 1186 / @133" / Denon x5200 7.3.4 Atmos / B&K 5000 II amp / Boston VR2/VR12/CR67 speakers / Rythmik 12" subs x2 / CV 15" sub / Sony BDP s1000ES / Toshiba HD-A3 / Samsung K8500
Media Room = Samsung 65KS8000 / Denon x3300 /Klipsch speakers /Velodyne subs /Sony x800 /PS4 Pro + PSVR /WiiU/PS3/360/Wii/ 1080 TI game PC / Multi-Arcade / IMPEACH
DaGamePimp is offline
Old 08-15-2012, 03:14 PM
Senior Member

praz's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndaa75 View Post

Free upgrade from 4? I have a DIY license, do i qualify?
Upgrade from 4 to 5 is free within the first year of having 4 or having a current maintenance contract. With the features included in 5 I can't imagine anyone not wanting to upgrade.
praz is offline
Sponsored Links
Advertisement


Thread Tools


Forum Jump:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off