Forum Jump:
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 07-25-2009, 10:09 AM - Thread Starter
Member

dcemery's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I had 2 power outages within an hour 3 days ago. A couple of hours later I discovered my 2 Lutron dimmer switches (for 2 groups of recessed lights) for my home theater don't work - no light at all. The rest of my HT equipment is fine. I reset all circiut breakers but still no luck. Any ideas what may have happened? Is there a fuse in the dimmer switch that can be replaced or are they fried? It is a bit strange to me that both switches don't work. Appreciate any insight or advice. Thanks.
dcemery is offline
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 07-25-2009, 03:23 PM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

whiskey alpha's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: IA
Posts: 1,080
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
If memory serves me correct., there is a fuse in the dimmer itself.

Understanding the unexplainable"
whiskey alpha is offline
post #3 of 9 Old 07-25-2009, 03:29 PM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

whiskey alpha's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: IA
Posts: 1,080
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Scatch that, I was thinking of the FASS for advanced programming. You might call Lutron and ask though. It's strange they would go out though as the breaker you would have thought tripped before it fried them. Good luck

Understanding the unexplainable"
whiskey alpha is offline

post #4 of 9 Old 07-25-2009, 07:02 PM

MidLife's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Lutron dimmer went out. I think I overloaded it.
It no longer dims the lights. it only sends full power now.
I never got around to replacing them.
I had eight 75 bulbs on a 600 watt dimmer......
Oh well.
MidLife is offline
post #5 of 9 Old 07-25-2009, 07:44 PM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

Sherardp's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Japan
Posts: 1,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MidLife View Post

My Lutron dimmer went out. I think I overloaded it.
It no longer dims the lights. it only sends full power now.
I never got around to replacing them.
I had eight 75 bulbs on a 600 watt dimmer......
Oh well.

You will need the dimmer rated for 1000w so you will have little more play, and not max the dimmer out.

Check out the spacer system, which allows for 4 scenes.

http://beverlyhillselectric.com/spsincand.html

Click the link to see pics of my home theater

http://s450.photobucket.com/albums/q...oom/?start=all
Sherardp is offline
post #6 of 9 Old 07-26-2009, 03:56 AM - Thread Starter
Member

dcemery's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I found the problem- as I was searching for a replacement dimmer on the Lutron website I closely examined the faceplate and discovered the FASS switch at the bottom- my four-year-old had turned both switches off! (Nice coincidence with the power outage). Sorry for the false alarm but thanks anyway for the responses- hopefully they will be useful to others.
dcemery is offline
post #7 of 9 Old 07-26-2009, 08:03 AM

MidLife's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine is the type that looks like a standard light switch with the little dimmer slider next to the switch. The slider no longer works. But the switch does. Will the 1000 watt dimmers fit in a single switch space? I have two switches in a two gang box. One standard and one dimmer.
MidLife is offline
post #8 of 9 Old 07-26-2009, 08:49 AM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

whiskey alpha's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: IA
Posts: 1,080
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcemery View Post

I found the problem- as I was searching for a replacement dimmer on the Lutron website I closely examined the faceplate and discovered the FASS switch at the bottom- my four-year-old had turned both switches off! (Nice coincidence with the power outage). Sorry for the false alarm but thanks anyway for the responses- hopefully they will be useful to others.

That will do it. God bless kids huh.!

Understanding the unexplainable"
whiskey alpha is offline
post #9 of 9 Old 07-31-2009, 03:06 PM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

shahram72's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Columbia, SC USA
Posts: 1,354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Yes, I can also attest that you WILL burn out a dimmer by running it at capacity. A 1000W dimmer will fit in a single gang box but it is tight. They are bigger and have a heatsink, I think. Also, it will cost you. I think my folks needed a regular slide one and I paid $70 at an electrical supply years ago.

Shahram

Are you capable of independent thought, or do you need the government and mass media to do that for you?

Xbox Live Gamertag: Shahraminator
shahram72 is offline
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Reply Theater Room Items & Accessories

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off