Forum Jump:
Thread Tools
Old 12-18-2011, 10:46 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member

kwitel's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Using Handbrake right now and it telling me it will take 8 hours???

Granted its a large file (5 gigs) but there has to be a faster way...
kwitel is offline
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-18-2011, 11:16 AM
Senior Member

RandomNinjaAtk's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Maryland
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 125
different ways to speed it up:

1. Build a better computer
2. Use different encoding settings

And that's really all you can do. I currently can encode HD 1080p MKV Blu-ray rips (full size 15 - 35GB each) to 720p xbox 360 compatible in just a couple hours. But greatly depends on what processing power you have, your encoding settings.

"Live to Win!"
XBL: RandomNinjaAtk
stevenohare.com - Personal Blog
RandomNinjaAtk is offline
Old 12-18-2011, 07:47 PM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

sitlet's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,638
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Why are you re-encoding from mkv to mp4? The extension normally doesn't matter, its the codec that matters.
sitlet is online now

Old 12-18-2011, 11:12 PM
Advanced Member

checklst's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just need a more cpu. I am testing Handbrake tonight on a 4 core i5 Sandybridge. I now have a AMD 6core 1100Black cpu and it took Handbrake 1 hour 57 min to encode a 12GB 1080p mkv file(avatar) it took 40 min for MKV to rip the BD disk. That 6 core is a beast. My gut tells me the SB 4 core won't be to far behind.

Should have the numbers on the SB in the next day or so.

Good Luck.
checklst is offline
Old 12-18-2011, 11:35 PM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

MrBobb's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,656
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 63
If MKV and MP4 are both containers then u don't have to transcode at all (where it takes the most time), you would just have to UNPACK the MVK to its components, then REPACK to MP4. Again *if* (I don't know) both of those are containers only.

Another common term for pack/unpack = Mux/De-Mux.
MrBobb is offline
Old 12-19-2011, 01:29 AM
Senior Member

thefever's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Beaumont, Texas
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Personally, I'm not a fan of Handbrake. Check this link and see if it might help you. You shouldn't need to re-encode the video at all, which is what Handbrake appears to be doing.

Edit: Also check this one out. LINK
thefever is offline
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Thread Tools


Forum Jump:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off