Forum Jump:
Thread Tools
Old 01-22-2008, 04:33 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie

schwance's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have been a DirecTV customer for the past 11 years. I was a proud customer for the first 9 or so, then I purchased my first HDTV.

My problem (and first ever post to a forum) is this: I get 771 searching for signal errors pretty regularly. This problem NEVER happened until additional HD channels started launching in the last few months. If I change the channels back and forth eventually the channel comes in. However, my HR20 has series links to some of the HD channels and it is failing to record shows because when it changes the channels to get one of my shows, the 771 appears.

I know I'm not alone on this. Two people in my neighborhood have this issue as well. We have perfect line of sight, we never have pixelated pictures or anything that describes a degraded signal. When the channels are there, they are perfect!

Of course directv wants me to have a tech come out for a fee unless I want to pay the new monthly charge for a service contract. NO THANKS! I don't believe there is anything wrong that I should pay for.

SOMEONE PLEASE HELP!!!! This long time customer is about to go with Brand X.


Schwance
Ann Arbor, MI
schwance is offline
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-22-2008, 04:55 PM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

chris0's Avatar

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sounds like you just need to have your dish realigned. What are your numbers for the 103(c)?

Pics from my TV here and here.
chris0 is offline
Old 01-22-2008, 07:36 PM
Member

AggiePilk's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I had the same problem. They came out and replaced both black in line filters? (not sure what they are called). No problem since.

<div class="post-sig post-sig-limit shazam usersig-click"><div class="reparse-sig-lineheight"></div></div>
AggiePilk is offline

Old 01-22-2008, 08:17 PM
Member

cygnusloop's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Firestone, CO
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's possible that you need a realignment, or it's possible that you have bad B-band converters (the inline black filter things).

Do you have a multiswitch? You do if you have more than four tuners installed in your house. (DVR=2 tuners, receiver=1 tuner). A bad multiswitch or exceptionally long cable runs with an unpowered multiswitch can cause the issue you describe.

Poorly installed cable runs (loose connectors, non-weatherproof connectors, etc...) can also cause this issue. If you can get to your dish, check to see if the connectors are tight. Make sure any other connections are tight all the way to your receiver. While your up there, make sure that the dish adjustment nuts have been properly locked down (an issue more common than you would think).

Your signal strengths would help determine if your problem is alignment or cabling.
cygnusloop is offline
Old 01-23-2008, 04:49 PM
Member

tufamc's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had the same problem check out my post on this site,

Directv H20 Offical Thread, mine is on the last page.
tufamc is offline
Old 01-23-2008, 04:51 PM
Member

tufamc's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
/avs-vb/showt...98538&page=198

Maybe this will work
tufamc is offline
Old 10-05-2011, 03:37 PM
Newbie

wvets's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My husband is a tech from the post office he says equipment fine but we dont get service in theday time from around noon to 7pm but it worked fine during the hurricane.
wvets is offline
Old 10-05-2011, 06:50 PM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

ProjectSHO89's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,198
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 295 Post(s)
Liked: 133
You just resurrected a thread from 2008 to post something with no apparent relationship to the original thread?
ProjectSHO89 is offline
Old 10-06-2011, 08:51 AM
online-shashki Forum Addicted Member

arxaw's Avatar

Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by schwance View Post

I have been a DirecTV customer for the past 11 years. I was a proud customer for the first 9 or so, then I purchased my first HDTV.

My problem (and first ever post to a forum) is this: I get 771 searching for signal errors pretty regularly. This problem NEVER happened until additional HD channels started launching in the last few months. If I change the channels back and forth eventually the channel comes in. However, my HR20 has series links to some of the HD channels and it is failing to record shows because when it changes the channels to get one of my shows, the 771 appears.

I know I'm not alone on this. Two people in my neighborhood have this issue as well. We have perfect line of sight, we never have pixelated pictures or anything that describes a degraded signal. When the channels are there, they are perfect!

Of course directv wants me to have a tech come out for a fee unless I want to pay the new monthly charge for a service contract. NO THANKS! I don't believe there is anything wrong that I should pay for.

SOMEONE PLEASE HELP!!!! This long time customer is about to go with Brand X.


Schwance
Ann Arbor, MI

Probably dish alignment or defective B-Band converter inline w/ the coax on the back of the box.

Call DirecTV. When you get the interactive voice prompts, say "CANCEL SERVICE." That should get you to customer retention. Explain your problem to them and threaten to leave. If they won't offer to fix the problem at no charge, switch to Dish Network. That's what I did after 14 years with D*.
arxaw is offline
Old 10-06-2011, 02:04 PM
Super Moderator

DrDon's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, Tampa Bay
Posts: 15,120
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1481 Post(s)
Liked: 2791
Yeah, really old thread. Closed.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Thread Tools


Forum Jump:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off