Forum Jump:
Thread Tools
Old 01-17-2016, 06:59 PM - Thread Starter
Member

Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Vizio CEC not working with Vizio Soundbar

I recently moved and had to unplug all my devices VIZIO S5451w-C2 5.1 soundbar and Vizio TV P552ui that were working perfectly using HDMI ARC.

When I tried to reconnect everything at the new house I could not get the TV to detect the soundbar. When I start the TV the settings are stuck and will say TV speakers off and the soundbar will also not play any audio. In order to get the sound to work I have to in settings, turn the TV speakers on, then off again before the sound bar will kick on and play the sound.

Prior to the system being unplug the soundbar would start with the TV and the audio would come right on. Also I can not get the TV to detect the soundbar using CEC. Ive tried to check the user guides everything leads to CEC detecting the soundbar, Im guessing this is my hold up?
cgood311 is offline
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-18-2016, 01:41 PM
Advanced Member

Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Yes, the problem is the nefarious nature of CEC & HDMI handshakes, and how easily they are broken. Since your Vizio TV's remote should be able to control the soundbar without CEC (according to the soundbars user guide), I would turn CEC & ARC off and connect the soundbar to TV's optical audio out. It will give you the same audio as ARC.
Lils Roro is offline
Old 01-18-2016, 03:09 PM - Thread Starter
Member

Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Thanks. Will using the optical cable fix the issue with the speakers not turning on with the TV or will I forever have to turn the TV on then use the other remote to turn the speakers on separately. Minor issue just a pain having to go into the TV settings to turn the TV speakers off every time.
cgood311 is offline

Old 01-18-2016, 07:36 PM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

BIslander's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,929
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 191
CEC is required for your TV to power the soundbar on and off. A universal remote like a Harmony can replace all your remotes and do all power and input switching with a single button. They're not expensive for controlling a small number of devices. .

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
BIslander is offline
Old 01-18-2016, 09:53 PM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

HDMI Guy's Avatar

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,543
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by cgood311 View Post
I recently moved and had to unplug all my devices VIZIO S5451w-C2 5.1 soundbar and Vizio TV P552ui that were working perfectly using HDMI ARC.

When I tried to reconnect everything at the new house I could not get the TV to detect the soundbar. When I start the TV the settings are stuck and will say TV speakers off and the soundbar will also not play any audio. In order to get the sound to work I have to in settings, turn the TV speakers on, then off again before the sound bar will kick on and play the sound.

Prior to the system being unplug the soundbar would start with the TV and the audio would come right on. Also I can not get the TV to detect the soundbar using CEC. Ive tried to check the user guides everything leads to CEC detecting the soundbar, Im guessing this is my hold up?
Did you remember to do Device Discovery on the soundbar CEC menu when you reconnected the cables?
HDMI Guy is offline
Old 01-18-2016, 11:04 PM - Thread Starter
Member

Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDMI Guy View Post
Did you remember to do Device Discovery on the soundbar CEC menu when you reconnected the cables?
not sure where to find that on the soundbar settings? i know there is some generic settings using the remote that came with it but I didnt see any CEC settings.
cgood311 is offline
Old 01-19-2016, 03:47 AM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

HDMI Guy's Avatar

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,543
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 46
see page 10 of owners manual
HDMI Guy is offline
Old 01-19-2016, 03:54 AM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

HDMI Guy's Avatar

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,543
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Under system menu. Then under CEC menu.
HDMI Guy is offline
Old 01-19-2016, 12:36 PM - Thread Starter
Member

Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 1
OK thanks ill take a look when I get home. My other issue was the TV would not save the setting of me turning the internal TV speakers off so that was overriding the sound bar. Hopefully the CEC setting on the sound bar will fix that.

update: I was not able to locate the menu for the sound bar separate of the TVs menu. In discovery mode on the TV the TV never discovers the sound bar. Also, page 10 in my owners manual only talks about choosing the right input on the sound which I already have set to ARC.

Last edited by cgood311; 01-19-2016 at 08:57 PM.
cgood311 is offline
Old 01-19-2016, 10:09 PM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

HDMI Guy's Avatar

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,543
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 46
From the Soundbar Quick Start Guide Page 10

What is HDMI Audio Return Channel (ARC)?
Using HDMI ARC, your TV can send audio to the sound
bar using an HDMI cable.
You will need to connect your sound bar to your TV’s HDMI
ARC port using an HDMI cable that is ARC compatible.
To connect using HDMI*:
1. Connect one end of the HDMI cable to the HDMI 1
(ARC) port on the back of your TV.
2. Connect the other end to the HDMI OUT (ARC) port
on your VIZIO sound bar.
3. From the AUDIO menu on your TV, change the
Digital Audio Setting to Dolby Digital or Bitstream.
4. From the AUDIO menu, disable the TV’s internal
speakers.
5. From the SYSTEM menu, enable CEC† Function.
6. From the CEC menu, select Device Discovery to
register the sound bar with the TV.
* The following steps are for use with a VIZIO TV, steps may differ by TV manufacturer. See your TV’s user manual for more information.
† CEC Function naming may differ by TV manufacturer. See your TV’s user manual for more information.
If you want to use the volume buttons on
the TV remote control to control the sound
bar, enable System Audio Control from the CEC menu

Last edited by HDMI Guy; 01-19-2016 at 10:20 PM.
HDMI Guy is offline
Old 01-19-2016, 10:19 PM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

HDMI Guy's Avatar

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,543
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 46
From your TV owner's manual.

Adjusting the CEC Settings
The CEC function on your TV enables you to control
HDMI-connected devices with the included remote without any
additional programming.
Not all HDMI devices support CEC. See your device’s
user manual for details.
To enable, disable, or adjust CEC settings:
1. Press the MENU button on the remote. The on-screen menu is
displayed.
2. Use the Arrow buttons on the remote to highlight System
and press OK. The SYSTEM menu is displayed.
3. Use the Arrow buttons on the remote to highlight CEC and
press OK. The CEC menu is displayed.
4. Use the Arrow and OK buttons to adjust each setting:
• CEC - Select Enable to use the TV remote to control CEC
devices connected to HDMI. Select ARC Only for plug
and play of an audio device connected to the HDMI ARC
input. The ARC setting does not support video devices
connected to the audio device (Select Enable to enable
support for these devices).
Select Disable to turn CEC off.
• Device Discovery - Use this function to determine if your
device is connected and supports CEC. (Required for
Enable option only)
5. Press the EXIT button on the remote.
HDMI Guy is offline
Old 01-19-2016, 11:44 PM - Thread Starter
Member

Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDMI Guy View Post
From your TV owner's manual.

Adjusting the CEC Settings
The CEC function on your TV enables you to control
HDMI-connected devices with the included remote without any
additional programming.
Not all HDMI devices support CEC. See your device’s
user manual for details.
To enable, disable, or adjust CEC settings:
1. Press the MENU button on the remote. The on-screen menu is
displayed.
2. Use the Arrow buttons on the remote to highlight System
and press OK. The SYSTEM menu is displayed.
3. Use the Arrow buttons on the remote to highlight CEC and
press OK. The CEC menu is displayed.
4. Use the Arrow and OK buttons to adjust each setting:
• CEC - Select Enable to use the TV remote to control CEC
devices connected to HDMI. Select ARC Only for plug
and play of an audio device connected to the HDMI ARC
input. The ARC setting does not support video devices
connected to the audio device (Select Enable to enable
support for these devices).
Select Disable to turn CEC off.
• Device Discovery - Use this function to determine if your
device is connected and supports CEC. (Required for
Enable option only)
5. Press the EXIT button on the remote.
thanks for the info. The device discovery search does not find the sound bar. I tried under CEC ard ARC only.
cgood311 is offline
Old 01-19-2016, 11:46 PM - Thread Starter
Member

Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDMI Guy View Post
From your TV owner's manual.

Adjusting the CEC Settings
The CEC function on your TV enables you to control
HDMI-connected devices with the included remote without any
additional programming.
Not all HDMI devices support CEC. See your device’s
user manual for details.
To enable, disable, or adjust CEC settings:
1. Press the MENU button on the remote. The on-screen menu is
displayed.
2. Use the Arrow buttons on the remote to highlight System
and press OK. The SYSTEM menu is displayed.
3. Use the Arrow buttons on the remote to highlight CEC and
press OK. The CEC menu is displayed.
4. Use the Arrow and OK buttons to adjust each setting:
• CEC - Select Enable to use the TV remote to control CEC
devices connected to HDMI. Select ARC Only for plug
and play of an audio device connected to the HDMI ARC
input. The ARC setting does not support video devices
connected to the audio device (Select Enable to enable
support for these devices).
Select Disable to turn CEC off.
• Device Discovery - Use this function to determine if your
device is connected and supports CEC. (Required for
Enable option only)
5. Press the EXIT button on the remote.
Thanks for the info. When I run the CEC discovery search under ARC only and CEC the sound bar is not discovered. This was not a problem before I moved and unplugged everything.
cgood311 is offline
Old 01-20-2016, 08:52 AM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

HDMI Guy's Avatar

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,543
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by cgood311 View Post
Thanks for the info. When I run the CEC discovery search under ARC only and CEC the sound bar is not discovered. This was not a problem before I moved and unplugged everything.
What happens if you do not select ARC only and select enable? Then do you have an option to use Device Discovery?
HDMI Guy is offline
Old 01-20-2016, 09:51 AM - Thread Starter
Member

Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Yeah there is a discovery option for both. ARC only and regular CEC enabled can not locate the sound bar.
cgood311 is offline
Old 01-20-2016, 10:09 AM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

HDMI Guy's Avatar

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,543
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by cgood311 View Post
Yeah there is a discovery option for both. ARC only and regular CEC enabled can not locate the sound bar.
Are you using the same HDMI cable as before?
HDMI Guy is offline
Old 01-20-2016, 11:10 AM - Thread Starter
Member

Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDMI Guy View Post
Are you using the same HDMI cable as before?
yeah my amazon cables.

Here is a small video of the speakers in the TV being off when I power the TV on. I then have to turn those off for the Sound bar audio to turn on.

cgood311 is offline
Old 01-20-2016, 11:11 AM - Thread Starter
Member

Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDMI Guy View Post
Are you using the same HDMI cable as before?
yeah my amazon cables.

Here is a small video of the speakers in the TV being off when I power the TV on. I then have to turn those off for the Sound bar audio to turn on.

cgood311 is offline
Old 06-19-2016, 10:14 AM
Member

inocent's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone found a solution for this? It seems as though mine just randomly stopped working yesterday.

My soundbar was found via discovery when I first installed it but now it doesn't show anything on the TV.

The sounbar worked with my nvidia shield remote too but now doesn't. Also plex no longer plays DTS files passthrough to soundbar.

The only thing I did yesterday was programmed a new cable dvr remote to my TV.
inocent is offline
Old 06-20-2016, 02:50 PM
Senior Member

ToonMasterTim's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 85
I often experience issues with my SB4051-C0 to my 2013 Panasonic S60 plasma. It seems like a handshake issue to me. If I cycle through the sound bar inputs, and it may take more than one cycle, it usually begins working. But it is frustrating that you even have to bother.

Thing is, I have the sound bar volume programmed to be controlled using the TV remote, so sometimes when I first turn on the TV I immediately have control without CEC, thus, no volume control indicator appears on the TV. A few minutes later, the TV remote will stop controlling the sound bar. I will cycle through the inputs on the sound bar using the Vizio remote and try again with the TV remote until the TV remote begins controlling the sound bar volume, which is sent through CEC and a volume up/down indicator appears on the TV whenever I change the volume.

I've written to Vizio about this, but so far there has been no firmware update to address it. However, I have also read that CEC has issues, so I chalk this up as one of those issues. Best bet is get a universal remote or keep your Vizio sound bar remote handily in arm's reach.
ToonMasterTim is offline
Old 06-22-2016, 06:12 PM
Member

xekester's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Central New Jersey
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
FWIW - My fix for all of these types of issues is to unplug all the connected devices from the AC, then plug in the TV 1st, Cable/Satellite 2nd, sound bar last. When feeling lazy, I do keep the sound bar remote close to hand at all times since pausing DirectTV too long causes the sound bar to shut off randomly.


Hope that helps


Xekester
xekester is offline
Old 12-08-2017, 12:55 PM
Senior Member

blabber's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Parts Unknown USA (Central Calif)
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BUMPing an old thread to say my new-ish LGTV sometimes forgets about HDMI ARC, so I have to go into its audio setup menu to re-enable it and select Vizio Soundbar.

"Manuals? What manuals? We don't need no stinkin' manuals!!"
blabber is offline
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Thread Tools


Forum Jump:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off