Forum Jump:
Old 06-16-2005, 10:03 AM - Thread Starter
gps
Advanced Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a couple of non 45 degree angles that I need to cut for my baseboards in my home theater. I can not use a protractor due to tight space. Is there a simple way to figure out what the angles should be for the cut ?
Thanks for any help !

Greg
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-16-2005, 10:57 AM
online-shashki Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Send a message via AIM to bpape
Trial and error. Just take some of your scrap and adjust the cuts till it fits - then do your real pieces. Other than that, you could just measure from the breakout of the first piece to the wall, mark it, then measure from there to the other wall and do the trig to get the angle. Obviously you'd want to measure with something like calipers as a tape would be way to coarse.

I am serious...and don't call me Shirley.
sensiblesoundsolutions.com
Old 06-16-2005, 11:06 AM

Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 20
As bpape said, use a couple of scrap pieces until you get the angle right. My room has several odd angles, and that's what worked well for me.

Old 06-16-2005, 12:47 PM - Thread Starter
gps
Advanced Member

Thanks guys I'll try that!!!!
Old 06-16-2005, 02:37 PM

If I can explain this and make it understandable:

Use a short scrap of wood, with a 90 degree angle and butt it up into the corner. Take another identical piece and butt it up into the same corner, from the opposite direction, and setting on top of the first piece. Use a pencil and draw a line on the lower piece, using the end of the upper piece as a guide. Use this pencil line to set the angle on your saw. This will work for any angle, either inside, or outside.
Old 06-16-2005, 03:04 PM

Liked: 12
Cut the angle into a piece of paper. When the paper fits perfect, fold it in half and there is your angle. Or you can measure the paper with the protractor.