Forum Jump:
post #1 of 15 Old 07-01-2014, 07:44 AM - Thread Starter
online-shashki Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Samsung TV turns on and off repeatedly before staying on...

I had a Samsung LN32A450 LCD TV for almost 6 years and it never gave me a problem until now. Over the past 5 days, when I turn my TV on, it will shut off and on repeatedly about 1-3 times before finally remaining on. Once it stays on, it's ok. It only happens when you just turn it on.

Anyone know what could be causing this sudden problem? I didn't try unplugging the TV. Could that help? And is this problem an indication that my TV is failing and will need to be replaced? I'm afraid that one day, it will just not turn on anymore....
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 07-01-2014, 11:06 AM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 41
I have a lot of experience repairing computers not much with TV's but when I see a problem like this a couple of things come to mind. A dirty switch or relay though with modern electronics this is less of a problem, I assume you are using the remote not the switch on the TV, but it may pay to try a little electric switch cleaner spray on the TV's power button anyway. Another problem might be the power supply is going bad. What it sounds like is something isn't making proper contact until it gets warmed up a bit, this type of problem tends to get only worse over time (the bad connection gets worse as it's stressed). Or an important capacitor may be going bad (they do wear out over time). This may be something a repair person can find and fix easily but these things can be hard to trace sometimes. It never hurts to unplug an electronic device if you are having problems just leave it unplugged for awhile (say 1/2 hour) to let the capacitors discharge. If you are looking for an excuse to get a new TV than I'd say this is a good one, donate the old one to Goodwill or similar charity maybe the